ATC (Artist Trading Card) Fabric Postcard 6 x 4

Every ATC has a story to tell, here I share my inspiration about my creations

[27 July 2010] A local food named “Chilli Crab” – This dish is so popular in Singapore most tourist would know about it and most probably tried it at least once during their visit. We locals do cook and eat this dish at home too although not frequently but in special occasions like birthdays . Since popularity of one dish is rather iconic I’d placed a Singapore Flag to represent the location as the origin of the dish.

Material used : Chinese Brocade / Silk

[21 July 2010] Batik squares – I love batik design and the tile effect. I was recently inspired by some tiles I saw, the building is so unique in style it is called  “eclectic architecture”, personally I feel its more of a fusion of colour and decoration representing European and Chinese style. Take a look at my set of photos taken of the building when you have time.

Material = Cotton, Printed Batik Cotton

[20 July 2010] Today’s feature is Lace,  I love lace and find them so precious to use because they can be so expensive. This particular work uses lace which was saved as scrap from past project, it is a large-strip lace which I had trim to a circle and hand stitched using clear nylon thread onto felt. Felt fabric is the easiest fabric to handle and rather affordable.

Story behind the ATC : Inspired by a quote  “Just living is not enough, one must have sunshine, freedom, and a little flower ….. ” Hans Christian Anderson

Material = Felt Fabric

[19 July 2010] If every picture has a story to tell I would say that there is even a greater story behind each ATC created. Everyone create to express their creativity style but some are created with more meaning than others. Over the weekend I had created two ATCs and hope to take a moment of your time to share with you what was on my mind.

Title : Unity of Hearts

ATC Title : Unity of Hearts

Story behind the ATC : Being shot in the heart by a cupid may not be a necessarily great thing to happen, one heart being shot is like falling in love in a ‘one-sided way’ – you can be madly crazy in love but it ain’t going to bring you fulfillment if the other party does not reciprocate. It will be a ultimate blessing if the cupid could aim for two hearts with one arrow! So this piece of creation was made to dedicate to those lucky ones that fell for the correct partner and live their lives united in their hearts. Not everyone in this universe will be so darn lucky but for those couples that live through a lifetime together, through thick and thin, for better or worst they are the reason why it keeps us inspired.

Material used : Cotton, Chinese Brocade/ Silk.

Titled : I love my Carrr

Title : I love my Carrr

Story behind the ATC : Driving is a skill that represents freedom to me, driving should be an enjoyment for as long as one can afford it (although it can be stressful if traffic is bad and you are in this situation where time is the essence). I have been lucky and blessed to have owned and driven 3 cars so far, I started off with a old car that was about 8 years old and had to put up with being a old car for two years. My second car was bought new and had been with me for about 5 years. I am now with my third and maybe final car this lifetime, only now I appreciate driving my car as I could drive as a means of transport and leisure. My first two cars were bought due to my nature of work in sales, life was very tough in the road  and so was work-life then. I am so blessed I truly get to enjoy my car now as I no longer need to drive around for my work and the experience is a relaxed atmosphere so it is like hearts popping up the road as I spend time in my car.

Material used : Japanese crepe fabric (adhesive)

Why I  ‘ATC’….

[16 July 2010] It is a huge universe out there to any crafter’s delight and this come in a form by a little piece of artwork which can be created by anyone anywhere in the world and probably traveled around the world to a final destination that is in another artist’s collection.

Artist Trading Card – this term amazed me from the very start when I stumbled upon flickr photo pool and saw beautiful and fascinating fabric pieces created by individuals (yes just like you and me) whose flair of creativity struck me and inspire me to want to join the community. I love the term ‘Artist’ – so when you create a craft which is called a artwork you instantly become a artist….seems a grand and neat idea!

Here I have created my first 3 pieces of fabric ATC…size is so tiny but so much joy in their creation, moreover since I hardly throw away any fabric scraps creating ATC fits me to a “T”.

Material = Hand-dyed velvet
Material = Chinese Brocade / Silk
Material = Cotton

There are a lot of websites and swap groups on the internet that one can join and trade the beautiful pieces of artworks, not everything commercialized nor is it mass produced – money, money and money (although to have enough to live by is good, a bit more is great but some of life’s  little pleasures money can’t buy).

Every piece of ATC means something to somebody and is it just a wonderful idea to admire, inspire, have a exchange and build a collection.

Hope you enjoy this little discovery and join in the community too.

My photo pool of ATC are uploaded onto Flickr so drop by anytime as I will upload the works there. If you like to trade your ATC Fabric with me leave me a comment.

Leave a Reply

